It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year: ComicCon Superhero Breakdown

Ahh… summer. Besides getting to relax a little more, have long days and warmer weather, and head to places like the mountains or beach, the summer brings forth so much more for us nerds.  For me, personally, summer comes down to three things that are just about finishing up; first, there was E3 for my gaming news, the Steam Summer Sale (last day today *tear*), and the biggest and best one………

COMICCON.

This is my favorite thing ever, movies, games, television, cartoons, anime, anything! Cosplaying, that’s super rad too, when I head to the con next year I’m gonna try to pull some light cosplaying if I can plan in advance.

However, if you have been following movie news anywhere, you have heard all of the awesome new updates in the cinematic universe! Let’s get right into it!

DC kicked off with some big news further forming their hero universe with one picture confirming something that everyone has been waiting for… Superman and Batman together in the same movie! Hell yeah! While I’m a huge Marvel junkie, how can you not love both companies and be thrilled to see two of the most iconic superheroes share the screen? Now we all await the big question of who will be playing Batman?

Next, DC also announced their plans to follow up the Batman/Superman film in 2015 by giving the Flash his own feature in 2016 and then we will (finally) see a Justice League movie in 2017. It’s good to see DC finally moving forward with their universe and I’m excited for even more superhero films.

Transitioning to Marvel now…

So, we get some new posters and logos for the already upcoming Marvel films Captain America: The Winter Soldier and Thor: The Dark World.

Then the first huge news that got me super excited came when the Guardians of the Galaxy cast was brought out and we got to see the concept art of what the cast would look like as the characters.  There was also a display for the film featuring some props like Star-Lord’s famed helmet/mask, Drax’s blades, and surprisingly cool some Nova Corps guards.  While I think the Nova suits are pretty pathetic, everything else was really cool! Karen Gillen even shaved her head for her role as Nebula, super cool dedication right there!

Guardians is what got me back into comics; Star-Lord is my favorite superhero and I think that Chris Pratt is perfect for the role.  I love him on Parks and Rec where we see his humor, yet he can be a manly badass (Zero Dark Thirty), so I think he has huge potential to be the next RDJ/Iron Man type casting where he literally is the character.  Either way, I’m pumped that this is a year away and think with the cast and potential plots will make for a great movie.

Then there is Ant-Man, which is going to be cool, but no real news about this besides Edgar Wright confirming that he has the script completed. I’m really curious who is going to play Ant-Man and the more important role of Hank Pym.  Two names I’ve seen people suggest on the internet that I absolutely love are Nathan Fillion (who already has ties with Whedon) and Aaron Eckhart (who Marvel has recently expressed that they want to work with). I think that these two could do a great job of being one of the smartest scientists in the world while also being physically fit enough (especially Eckhart after I,Frankenstein) to play the role of a superhero.

Finally, the biggest piece of news from Marvel……..

Avengers: Age of Ultron

The second Avengers film will follow up with the awesome villain Ultron, and his super adapting artificial intelligence won’t be as easy of a foe that the team faced the first time around. I’m excited to see them bring Ultron to the screen and continue to make all of us comic lovers able to watch our favorite characters and villains in the theater.  I also think this will heavily tie in with Vin Diesel’s currently secret casting.  I love Vin; Riddick is awesome and I have a weak spot for the Fast and Furious series, but Vin could easily pull off a superhero.  I would have loved him as Drax the Destroyer in Guardians, but people are speculating that his great robot voice (The Iron Giant) will bring a nice Ultron or Vision to the films, and whichever will keep him in the franchise for longer is the one I want him to be.  

There is a lot going on with superheroes in movies, I’m pretty excited after this ComicCon because the Marvel universe is always expanding and I’m thrilled to see the cosmic stories coming into play more.  My ultimate dream would be to see Marvel get the rights to Spider-Man and the X-Men back and make a House of M movie. But… returning to reality, I’ll easily take everything they are giving us right now!

The superhero movies are only multiplying and getting better as they go, so going forward we have a lot to look forward to! This was just a quick roundup of what’s going on, I thought it would be a solid first post, but I’ll be back soon with more news from ComicCon!

, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

