My First Taste of Wolverine Comics

Okay, so as I mentioned, I was able to purchase and read Chris Claremont and Frank Miller’s “Wolverine”, which is Wolverine’s first solo story and definitely got me into the character a lot more than I previously had been.

The story opens with Wolverine hunting, and the writing immediately pulled me in to where I was just like, “fuck yes, this is exactly what I wanted.”

Spread across a couple pages of panels we have this,

“I’m Wolverine. I’m the best at what I do but what I do best isn’t very nice.” This already had me like I’m in, I’m a Wolverine fan now.

“This is home to me — the Canadian Rockies — land as stark an’ elemental as my soul. I’m here on business. To hunt. To kill.”

The writing is what really drew me to the character. The rest of the story finds Logan entangled in quests for love and honor while doing what he does best which is fight.

The artwork was great for a classic novel so I was really loving the style and drawn out scenes between Logan and the ninjas or Silver Samurai, that complimented the writing and brought the simple but brilliant words to life visually.

The novel shares basic similarities with the recently released movie, which helped me out because I wouldn’t have known certain characters. However plot-wise the content must be pulled from multiple sources that I have no knowledge of yet.

I’m really happy that this was the first Wolverine novel I read, and while I have liked the character beforehand, solely reading his classic tales of adventure have let me appreciate Logan on a new level. “Wolverine” truly captures the essence that is the wise cracking, 0 fucks giving Wolverine we love while also introducing readers to the “ronin” side of the character that values respect and yearns to earn the honor of his true love.

Definitely give this graphic novel a read, it’s a great classic to have in your library. But until next time, keep nerding out!

, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

