Golden Globe Awards Review: The Movies

Alright, so I’m surprised that I actually ended up watching the Golden Globes all the way through.  I usually am just focused on who is winning the awards and how it might set up for the (much more important) Academy Awards.  I definitely thought there were some surprises last night, while mostly positive and deserving surprises, not my initial picks for the winners.  I’m going to save my predictions for the Academy Awards because it focuses strictly on film and by then I will have seen nearly all of the films up for nominations, so for now, I’m just going to give some general feedback about last nights Golden Globe winners.

Best Picture, Drama: 12 Years a Slave

  • This movie absolutely deserved to win, I would have rioted had it not.  12 Years was easily my second (really 1.5 if that were acceptable) favorite movie of the year and it is deserving of  every award it gets nominated for.  The story is something very real and sad, but a nice reflection on the time period and how messed up slavery actually was.  The film just has everything, great acting from Chiwetel Ejiofor, Lupita Nyong’o, Michael Fassbender, and many more, an awesome score that provides haunting and beautiful background music, as well as great cinematography.  This was my expected pick for this category and I won’t be surprised if it receives the Best Picture award from the Academy, but there is stiff competition this year.

Best Actress in a Motion Picture, Drama: Cate Banchett, Blue Jasmine

  • Again, I got this one right.  I just felt like this category was weak considering the choices aside from Blanchett.  She is awesome in Blue Jasmine and puts on a wonderful performance that makes the character feel real and appropriate for the unfortunate situation that flips her life upside down.  Bullock was good, however Gravity was a visual spectacle, Emma Thompson was wonderful in Saving Mr. Banks but the character was pretty straightforward, and I have not gotten to see Philomena or Labor Day just yet.

Best Actor in a Motion Picture, Drama: Matthew McConaughey, Dallas Buyers Club

  • This was definitely a surprising pick to me, mainly that he beat out Chiwetel Ejiofor.  I was happily surprised to see McConaughey win this award because he really was phenomenal in Dallas Buyers Club.  I think that the Best Actor category is actually the most competitive this year and whoever wins at the Oscars will most likely be deserving.  Personally, I thought Ejiofor was going to nab this award for his role in 12 Years, but McConaughey won and this is just going to make me think harder when decided for the Academy Awards.

Best Motion Picture, Musical or Comedy: American Hustle

  • Again, I was a little shocked by this, but not for bad reasons.  I love American Hustle, it is probably in my top five films of the year, but again, there is a lot of great competition surrounding it.  I honestly thought Her was a much deeper and better film than Hustle, however, it grabbed the award last night.  Inside Llewyn Davis was very good, but I think just a touch under the level that some of its competitors are on,  The Wolf of Wall Street was a good movie, but had plenty of flaws that I think will cost it being seriously considered as a Best Picture winner, and I have yet to see Nebraska, but it seems to be getting a lot of love.

Best Actress in a Motion Picture, Musical or Comedy: Amy Adams, American Hustle

  • Amy Adams is actually the only actress on this list that I have seen in her movie for this category.  I definitely believed that she should have won because I loved her performance in American Hustle and thought she really created and portrayed an awesome character.  Enough Said is actually a movie I plan on watching today (finally) and I have heard nothing but good things about Julia Louis-Dreyfus, however, I don’t think anyone can outdo Adams smart and cunning character from Hustle.

Best Actor in a Motion Picture, Musical or Comedy: Leonardo DiCaprio, The Wolf of Wall Street

  • All of my friends think that I really don’t want Leo to win because of my dissatisfaction with TWoWS, but that’s definitely not the case, he was amazing in the role, per usual.  Am I surprised that he was given the award over Christian Bale, Joaquin Phoenix, and the largely buzzed about Bruce Dern? Yes, absolutely.  However, Leo is a great actor, and was killer in the role as  The Wolf, Jordan Belfort.  He wasn’t my selection, but like I said, Best Actor is easily the tightest and deepest category this year, so it seems to be a toss up, but I still don’t think he will receive the Oscar when there is only one category.

Best Animated Feature Film: Frozen

  • You can’t beat Disney and Pixar.  Frozen was really nice and held that classic Disney story feel while having amazingly fluid animation and visuals and awesome original songs for the OST.  I thought Frozen should get this award and I think it’s expected for Disney/Pixar to always be the frontrunner in this category each year.

Beset Foreign Language Film: the Great Beauty

  • I actually haven’t seen any of the foreign films yet.  While I would like to, we’ll see if I can find a way to watch them, but I can’t really comment here.

Best Supporting Actress in a Motion Picture: Jennifer Lawrence, American Hustle

  • This had to have been the biggest disappointment to me all night.  Jennifer Lawrence is a great actress, don’t get me wrong.  As my good friend put it, watching her go from Katniss to this role in Hustle shows off the ability of her range and talent, but I just didn’t think she should have gotten this award.  My choice would have been for Lupita Nyong’o for 12 Years because she really knocked it out of the park along side of Ejiofor. Hell, I even would call Sally Hawkins a close third behind Lawrence in this category.  I just thought that out of all the main characters in American Hustle, Jennifer Lawrence’s was the least important and the only role I wasn’t overly excited with after viewing.  She was great, like I said, but she really didn’t have to do much besides act crazy in a more comedic way.  Sometimes I just feel like everyone’s personal love for Lawrence outside of her roles makes them slightly biased to call her amazing in every role she takes. I’m hoping to see a different result from the Academy.

Best Supporting Actor in a Motion Picture: Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club

  • Totally deserving and I think the most expected result of the night.  Leto returned to acting with this fantastic role that had him playing a full out woman basically.  The story and importance of his character to the Dallas Buyers Club were awesome and while I still think Fassbender should be a very close second for his role in 12 Years, Leto had me constantly forgetting that I was watching him on screen.

Best Director of a Motion Picture: Alfonso Cuaron, Gravity

  • Again, I think this was pretty expected because of Cuaron’s bravery in giving us visual spectacles that push the limits of visual film making.  Gravity, while not my favorite movie of the year or what I consider the “best”, had me (and the entire theater) dead silent during this epic and bold space exploration.

Best Screenplay for a Motion Picture: Spike Jonez, Her

  • This was the most surprisingly satisfying win for me last night.  I wasn’t sure who would receive this because I think 12 Years and Hustle are both just as deserving.  However, Her was easily my favorite movie of the year and I really want to see it win as many awards as possible.  I think that Spike Jonez really deserved this for not only the creativity behind Her, but also the most accurate sci-fi future possible.  This movie blew me away on all levels so I was really happy to see Jonez get the credit he earned.

Best Original Score for a Motion Picture: Alex Ebert, All is Lost

  • As an Edward Sharpe fan, I was shocked to see Ebert up on stage because I honestly did not know he was doing the score for All is Lost.  I really liked the score for Her, but it wasn’t even nominated so I actually need to go look more at this category before the Academy Awards.  Zimmer did great with 12 Years and providing a haunting yet perfectly beautiful score for the film, but like a lot of people are saying, it felt like he pulled from past works such as Inception and did not provide anything terribly new.  I have to go check out the score for All is Lost but I definitly remember it catching my attention several times during my viewing.  

Best Original Song for a Motion Picture: Ordinary Love, Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom

  • I haven’t seen Mandela yet, but I’m sure the song is good because it is by U2.  I thought Please Mr. Kennedy was catchy from Inside Llewyn Davis, but a little annoying. Atlas was good as well, but again, I will have to go listen to these songs individually to make a decision.

 

Well, these are all of the motion picture awards that were given out last night.  I actually am pretty happy with the results of these awards considering that the Golden Globes seem to become a rather large popularity contest with their results.  The true test will be the Academy Awards and what their nominations look like.  What did you think of last nights show and the results? I’m very excited to hear the Academy Award nominations in a couple of days, but if you think someone got snubbed last night, let me know who you thought should have won!

 

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

