“T.R.A.C.K.S.”: The Best Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. Episode so far

I’ve been keeping up with Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. and like many, I found myself on the fence about deciding whether to give up watching or not.  The show got off to a rough start and just felt boring most of the time because of its lack of, I guess, Marvel-ness.  People wanted minor heroes and villains to pop up from time to time, or at least let us see inside of S.H.I.E.L.D. more… I get that the point of this show is to focus on agents, not heroes, but the majority of the characters still felt annoying and out of place.  However, if you have been one of the viewers, like me, to push through and hang tough with the show, it now has become very rewarding.  Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. has been a huge pain to get through, but last night’s episode; “T.R.A.C.K.S.” may have just been the best yet.

I’m going to keep this short.

And of course, spoilers ahead…

In last night’s episode, I felt like we were given a full plate; interesting plot, confusing timeline of events, and great character arcs.  Just little things filled out last night’s episode like Agent May with all of her solo fights and how she escaped nearly being tortured. I loved watching her dagger skills and finally seeing what she can do.  Everyone seemed to get in on the action last night and it’s been good they have found ways to get the characters off of the plane finally.  Skye showed off her newly acquired fighting skills, but you can see she is still learning, but it’s okay! because Fitz is now comfortable with shooting the “night-night” gun to cover her.  Even Simmons got out of the plane and had to function in a undercover situation.  It seems like the writers have found the groove for each character and they are aware of the roles.  Tonight was hilarious when Coulson and Ward were trying to figure out the holotable, but being field agents, they are completely defeated when it comes to advanced technology.

The biggest and best part about the night was that Deathlok has arrived!! This was huge news when it was announced Mike wasn’t dead, but actually the cyborg mercenary.  I didn’t expect them to deliver so quickly, but last night he was showing off the new leg in the episode and is working for the Clairvoyant.  I’m hoping to see Mike slowly become more and more cyborg (like the picture to the right), and there was evidence of that eventually with Ian Quinn saying, “every piece of technology in you is top of the line”.

Then, to top off the arrival of Deathlok and finish up the episode, Quinn ends up shooting Skye twice and by the time Coulson and the team get to her, she doesn’t seem to have a pulse.  They throw her into the hyberbaric chamber that was just previously preserving Mike, but I wonder if they will be bale to save her.  I have pretty much hated Skye the most throughout this entire season and just didn’t enjoy her character or anything she was doing.  The writers have created this mystery about her being some type of alien which has definitely increased my interest in the character, but they have also made a nice choice to have her start showing off her basic fighting capabilities and worth.  Last night I definitely found myself sad when she was shot because she now has a purpose in the show.  I’m not expecting her to die, in fact, I think it’s probably a good thing because she might have some regeneration or super self healing powers that come forth from this.

This episode of AoS was very eventful and filled with action.  I thought the storytelling was really awesome with how they picked up the plot from different perspectives to slowly reveal the entire timeline of events. I think that “T.R.A.C.K.S.” was the best AoS episode to date and now there is a lot to look forward to this show going forward.  

We still don’t even know who the Clairvoyant is yet! The big bad guy behind the scenes who is apparently psychic and pretty evil.  I’m hoping it’s someone really awesome from the comics, but either way, the inclusion of Deathlok makes everything way better! We also still have Graviton and Blizzard looming in the depths; two more villains who have been established and could return anytime! I’m really excited with where AoS seems to be going, especially that Marvel has been tying it into the movies as well.  Hopefully they can keep this up!

What did everyone think of Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. last night? Did you enjoy the episode? Let me know why or why not!

 

, , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

