True Detective 1.5 Review: “The Secret Fate of All Life”

So far, this first season of HBO’s mystery crime thriller, True Detective, is easily on the same level as last year’s final season of Breaking Bad. I want, so bad, to call this one of my favorite shows, but keep remembering that McConaughey and Harrelson are only set up for a one and done, and the show will feature two new detectives each season.  Now, I’m sure it will still be awesome, but until I can develop more of an opinion, I’m keeping my excitement to a seasonal level.  However, the quality, suspense, and writing of True Detective have definitely elevated it into the standards of televisions top tier.  Last night’s fifth episode, “The Secret Fate of All Life,” continued the show’s steady episodic improvement, and at points had me standing up with my hands on my head in awe of the plot.

Following up last week’s Alfonso Cuarόn-esque final scene, Rust and Marty are finally able to track down Reggie LeDoux. As the detectives are trekking through a lengthy stretch of deep woods strung with booby traps and the familiar wooden structures from the past crime scenes. This seems like it, the big gun battle we’ve been waiting for since Marty mentioned it a couple episodes ago; however, it turns out there was no shootout, and the guys carefully inched closer to the property where they confronted and captured LeDoux and his partner.  I thought this was an amazing scene and was super shocked when Marty just walks out and blows LeDoux’s brains out.  It was definitely justified when we figured out there were drugged children in the garage, but was pretty crazy that they framed the entire thing, that definitely had me laughing as they hopped between the present and past to explain and show what happened.

This was a really intense episode; finally catching LeDoux, Marty’s personal life, and then realizing the case still hasn’t been solved. I was definitely shocked to see that they want to pin Rust as the killer, but I just think he’s doing some off duty undercover work that nobody is aware of.  That’s the type of detective Rust is; he knows that he is smarter than the rest of the guys on the force. I’m pretty sure he’s making headway on the real conspiracy going on and the storage container is filled with evidence, like a ton of those little wooden structures, which would look really bad for Rust.

I really enjoyed the time jump in the past, and seeing us move out of 1995 and into 2002.  I’m curious to see if Marty’s personal life is leading to more of a tie in with the case, or if we are just witnessing the destruction of his character and family. They include a lot of possible foreshadowing with his kids.  When he runs over the tricycle, which I believe was the same episode when they confront his daughter about her sexual drawings, could be the destruction of her innocence.  Now we see the two sisters arguing over a plastic princess crown, and the first girl killed was given the deer antler crown.  I guess we’ll see, I’m not too concerned about it because a small portion of the episode is designated to their personal lives.

Either way, this was just another fantastic episode of True Detective, and I really am blown away each week. Although I’m pretty sad that there are only three episodes left of McConaughey and Harrelson in this first season, but I also cannot wait to see what happens next week. What did everyone think of this True Detective episode, “The Secret Fate of All Life.” Have any theories on how it’s gonna finish up?

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Fox on February 18, 2014 - 12:51 am

    The “Rust is the murderer in 2012” theory is way too obvious to be true, but it would be pretty insane to see if one of Marty’s family members ends up making an early exit at the hands of whoever the real killer is. I think bringing in his ex-wife in 2012 as a witness is going to bring out more of what happened in the 10 years since, but I could definitely see everything we’re thinking getting blown out of the water by a curveball we didn’t see coming, a la the flashback to what really went down in the woods.

Leave a Reply

